Skip to content

Dusk – Chapter Four

May 15, 2011

When I woke up, I felt warm. For a minute I thought it was a normal day, me home in by bed.

Well… until I felt the arms around me and the memory of last night slammed into my brain.

“Morning,” whispered San huskily, kissing my neck.

“No… shouldn’t… San…” I protested weakly, distracted by his lips moving against my throat. The foolish part of me that had been in control last night ached to turn around and um… “go again”…

But Logical Me was in charge now. She told the other part to shut up.

Steeling my resolve, I pulled away from him, off the bed and furiously started pulling my clothes on.

“Why the long face?” San asked, raising one eyebrow playfully. That little expression does things to a girl, you know.

“Because,” I replied, avoiding his eyes, “this was a mistake, okay? And besides, I have to go. Right now.”

“That’s fine… I guess I’ll see you at the usual spot after work then? There’s always time to make another mistake…” he said suggestively as he pulled his jeans on.

“No!” I gasped, trying to keep my eyes away from his bare chest long enough to say what I had to say. “San, this can’t go on. There are some… people out there who’ll go to any measures to find me. The longer I stay around you, the more chance there is that they’ll use you to get to me. I’m so, so sorry San. This has to be goodbye.”

With that, I turned to go.

“Wait! Dusk, please!” he shouted pleadingly.

But I just left. Just like that. Even the cries of that foolish little part of me weren’t enough to make me realise how much he meant to me.

———

The days that came after were dull. I got up, went to work, came home from work, went to bed and then did it all over again. There was none of the fun, excitement and mystery of the days with-

No. I was not allowed to think about him. It’s better this way – he’d be safe now. Only a memory of days gone by, something that would fade over time.

But… if it meant so little, why did my heart hurt so much?

And still  I went on trying to forget, trying to move on. I told myself he meant nothing – and a part of me believed it.

That was, until the day I started feeling sick.

At first it didn’t seem odd. Just a stomach bug, or something.

Then, as time wore on and I didn’t get better, I began to wonder. Trembling inside, I went to the pharmacy to get what I needed.

The first time I didn’t believe it. Or the second. Or even the third. It took five of those little plus signs to bring it home to me.

Pregnant.

What do you do when your whole world collapses in on itself? The shaky life I’d constructed broke apart as I contemplated telling him.

Didn’t he have a right to know? Or was it kinder not to tell him? All through the day and after work my head was spinning. I went into the music room to sing it out. I may have been a crappy singer, but I’d always loved music. It was like poetry with a beat.

“We’ll do it all
Everything
On our own.
We don’t need
Anything
Or anyone.
If I lay here
If I just lay here
Would you lie with me
And just forget the world?”

 

Why I picked that song I still don’t know… but whatever reasons I had, for once music was just confusing me.

By the time I left the school the sun was going down. I’d decided I wouldn’t tell San. It would put him in more danger than he was already in by just being around me…

“Dusk! Hey, Dusk!”

Speak of the devil. I broke into a run as I heard his voice, cutting into a fenced area behind the hospital in a bid to shake him off.

No such luck. He followed me until I stopped, out of breath.

“Dusk, can we just talk? Whatever’s wrong, you can tell me.”

Oh, he didn’t even know the half of it…

“San, no. There are things I haven’t told you. Things I can’t tell you. I just… I can’t deal with this.”

“What can’t you tell me? Because there isn’t a lot I won’t believe.”

Snap decision. Time for the moment of truth.

“San… I’m pregnant.”

He did an excellent impression of someone who’d been turned to stone.

“Um… San? Still here?” I asked, waving my hand in front of his face. “Earth to San!”

And that was when I heard it. Too close, too echoing to not be real.

“Duskie… we fouuund yoooou!!”

The stuff of nightmares. My nightmares.

Them.

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. May 15, 2011 1:36 am

    WOAH!!!!!!!!!! EPIC chapter G!!!!! Her baby is gonna be so cute!!!! The way those evil vamps talk just remind me of the Empty Child!!!! They are so creepy can’t wait for more.

    • May 15, 2011 1:44 am

      *hugtackles*
      INDI!!
      I never even noticed they talk like the Empty Child… but now you point it out, they’re like 10 times as creepy! 😀

  2. Berry permalink
    May 15, 2011 1:41 am

    OH No!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! x.x lol So cute!

    “He did an excellent impression of someone who’d been turned to stone.” Great line! XDD

    • May 15, 2011 1:45 am

      Thanks 😀 But you’re “oh-no”ing now? Just wait till the next chapter – it’s Oh No to the power of 10!

  3. May 15, 2011 7:45 am

    o_O well that’s one heck of a twist. San better be a man and protect her and the little one!

  4. georgia permalink
    May 15, 2011 8:38 am

    I made the stupidest noise when I saw you posted a new chapter. Awesome, as expected and as always 🙂

    • May 15, 2011 11:05 am

      You realize now that at gym on Tuesday you’re going to have to replicate that noise for me 🙂

  5. May 15, 2011 12:26 pm

    “That’s fine… I guess I’ll see you at the usual spot after work then? There’s always time to make another mistake…” he said suggestively as he pulled his jeans on.

    Hehehe… made me chuckle. I would have definitely gone back for more ;P

    Hopefully San will protect her, whether she wants him to or not. She has to think about their baby now, she can’t risk getting hurt.

    • May 15, 2011 9:43 pm

      Heck, I would’ve gone back too!
      I guess you’ll just have to wait and see, won’t you? (although frankly I never thought of Dusk as in need of protection…

      • May 17, 2011 9:28 am

        oooohooo ME TOOO! rawr….lawl THEM are really starting to scare me! though i half no wat happens already…. *yawn* benefits of knowing the author in person….teehee HURRY UP AND SEND ME THE DRAFT! we gotta get it up sometime (its awesome) LOL

      • May 17, 2011 9:47 am

        ooohooo me TOO!… hehe its fun knowing wats gonna happen *yawn* benefits of knowing the author in person 😛

      • May 17, 2011 11:37 am

        Why did you comment twice, you nutter?

  6. May 15, 2011 1:44 pm

    Oh. My God.
    EPICNESS!!! What will happen next?! Will her baby be a green vamp berry!?

    • May 16, 2011 10:52 am

      I actually have no idea about the baby because I only play far enough to get the shots for each chapter….

  7. May 15, 2011 2:07 pm

    oh so excited to see what’s next!

  8. Cinnamon Sugar permalink
    May 15, 2011 3:53 pm

    I’m soo anxious to see what happens next. I’m glad Dusk told him, he did have a right to know, especially since he wants to be in her life.
    He better protect her! Or help her run. Whether she wants him to or not. That is, if he can snap out of his shock, lol.

  9. May 17, 2011 8:17 pm

    Now THIS is my kind of rainbowcy! I love the sweet and happy rainbowcies, but I need some action and stuff too!
    Who ARE these people and why do they scare Dusk? They can’t hurt her now though, because she’s pregnant and you can’t hurt pregnant people because that’s just wrong. Can’t wait for the next chapter! I’ll be waiting.
    …That sounds really creepy to me now that I think about it. “I’ll be waiting.”

    • May 17, 2011 9:36 pm

      Thanks! I literally CANNOT write light, happy stuff. It’s so much harder to keep interesting than it is to throw someone against a wall or something like that.
      But you should know that “they” don’t really care whether she’s pregnant or not, it won’t stop them from doing anything to get her back.

  10. May 20, 2011 12:17 pm

    This is so so so so interesting!!! I can’t wait to find out more about “them”!! Plus, San is mega hot.. which is always a bonus in my books. I can’t wait for the next update!!! x

    • May 21, 2011 3:14 am

      San is hot… But thats only one of the reasons I love him so much… 😀

Leave a comment