Skip to content

Dusk – Chapter One

April 20, 2011

The bright sunlight blinded me for a moment as I tumbled out of the dark mineshaft. The stifling air in there had me gasping for breath. It was hard to tell, but hopeful the route described in the map had come out in the right place.

Looking up, I realised that the map hadn’t failed me: the bright mountains of Sugar Valley towered above me. Hope stirring inside, I began my trek to my new home.

It was a long walk, and the sun was beginning its descent when I finally made it to 15 Sugar Hill Court. The walk didn’t bother me, though. Just being outside was a privilege I’d never had before, not in the entire 19 years of my life.

 However, when I laid eyes on the house, I was less than thrilled. In fact, I was terrified.

It was like a reminder of the past, chasing me. Stone, dark, forbidding. But as much as it frightened me, it was all I had now. Trembling, I went inside.

It wasn’t at all bad, but the red and black furnishings burned with an awful familiarity that tortured me to look at.

The memories came flooding back, each one like a knife into my brain. I had to get out, away from this place that reeked of pain and terror.

Maybe it was time to go get a job. There had to be something in this town for me to do. I’d always wanted to work with kids, to make sure that their lives were nothing like mine.

With that in mind, I set off to the Strawberry Shortcake School.

They had a position for me! Just as a playground monitor, but if I showed effort it might turn into a more permanent position. By the time I left, the sky was beginning to turn dark and I thought a walk through the park would be a good way to delay returning to the house.

Just one thing – don’t go walking in the park if you’re me and have no sense of direction. Pretty soon I had to admit that I was utterly lost. There was no-one around and it was getting darker… what if they came for me?

Footsteps behind me sent me into a full-on panic attack. This was it, then. To come so far only to have them catch me again.

“Are you okay, miss?” came a kindly concerned voice from behind me.

“Sorry, you look a little lost. Do you need some help?” said the stranger when I turned to face him.

“Um… yeah, actually. I can’t find my way back to 15 Sugar Hill Court,” I replied awkwardly.

“I could show you the way if you’d like,” he offered. “What did you say your name was, by the way?”

“It’s Dusk, and thanks, that’d be great.”

Before I knew it, I was sitting at one of the little tables chatting to my new friend. I could’ve just asked him to show me the way home straight away, but there was something about him that made me want to stay.

“You don’t look like you’re from around these parts… New in town?” he asked.

“Yeah… just moved here from… a long way away,” I said quietly, rubbing my hands together to fight off the bit of chill in the air.

I’m not really sure what we talked about after that… it was mostly just little things, like what I did for a living, what I thought of the Valley so far, etc. While we talked I found myself studying his eyes… their bright green was something I’d never encountered before… there was a very bewitching quality to them.

Eventually he stood up.

“I should probably go… it’s getting late,” he said before giving me some simple directions to my house.

I was just about to wave goodbye and go, when I did something incredibly stupid.

I leaned my head in and wrapped my arms around him, pressing my face into his shoulder. I thought I heard a small sigh… probably just imagining things.

“Thanks… really,” I mumbled, my voice muffled.

“Don’t mention it…” he replied when I stepped away, embarassment starting to creep over me.

Just as he was walking off into the night, I remembered something.

“Hey…how do I find you again?” I called out to his retreating figure.

“You don’t. I’ll find you,” he replied, before disappearing into the darkness.

When I got home, the decor barely bothered me, my head spinning with confused thoughts about my new friend. All I wanted to do was crawl under my covers and escape from the world for a while.

As I drifted towards sleep, a realisation hit me.

I never even asked his name.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2011 1:20 pm

    Well that is quite the beginning! Very curious to see where you are going to take this. Great start Grace ^_^

  2. Berry permalink
    April 20, 2011 3:09 pm

    Pffff who he is hawt!!!!! Great start!!!!

  3. April 20, 2011 10:13 pm

    Thanks ladies! <33333333333

  4. lionessfeather permalink
    April 21, 2011 5:27 am

    I love it! Where did you get the guy’s hair?

    • April 21, 2011 5:35 am

      It’s Newsea (called “Battler” as far as I remember) – not sure if it’s subscriber or not though…

  5. April 30, 2011 4:04 am

    Awesome Chapter G!!! I love it can’t wait for more!!!

    • April 30, 2011 10:52 pm

      Then you should know that I’m working on chapter 2 right now!

  6. May 1, 2011 2:37 am

    Well, then. 🙂 Great start!!
    The “I will find YOU.” was a little creepy though.
    I am also curious as who THEY are!!! :0

    • May 1, 2011 2:40 am

      Maybe it was a little creepy…
      And don’t worry, you’ll met THEM soon enough.
      What, you think I could just have a regular rainbowcy? Pah! 😀

  7. Cinnamon Sugar permalink
    May 1, 2011 4:06 pm

    I was not happy to see Jessie’s story on hold… again… until I read this chapter. This is an AMAZING start to a rainbowcy. “Boy with no name” is UBER cute, albeit a little creepy and very mysterious.
    In fact there’s a ton of mystery in this chapter, especially regarding her background. I felt really bad for her when she mentioned torture. Whoever THEY are, I am NOT going to like them (and I’m sure that’s the intention).
    Awww she’s a gothic looking playground monitor – how freaking adorable.
    Also, the picture of her with her head on his shoulder is so perfect. I have no idea how you did it, but I love it.

    • May 2, 2011 2:35 am

      I really am sorry about Jessie, and I want to get back to her as soon as possible. I just have a couple more shots for Dusk chapter two before I can continue with Jessie’s chapter 7.
      Dusk has a whole lot of mystery surrounding her, especially concerning “them”. Little hint – if you look closely at the pictures in this chapter, it could help you figure out who they are…
      Nameless Guy also has a bit of mystery… although nowhere near as bad as Dusk’s.
      I did the last picture with Dusk doing the “Lucky” trait animation from CAS and Nameless Guy doing the “Awe” reaction. Both were done with NRaas DebugEnabler.

      • Cinnamon Sugar permalink
        May 3, 2011 3:12 am

        It’s okay, I understand. I have a legacy and then another story, and my second story is MAJORLY back logged, so it’s all good.
        Hmm… I might have an idea, but I’ll wait a little longer to reveal it.
        Oh really? Well thanks for letting me know! If I ever need to use them, I shall give you full credit for the photo!

      • May 4, 2011 6:30 am

        I was actually quite surprised when no-one commented going “OMG I know who THEY are!!!!” because I was sure some of the pictures would give it away…
        The credit for the use of the “Lucky” trait animation actually goes to Berry… I’m still playing around with the DebugEnabler.

  8. May 3, 2011 3:40 am

    Oh my!!! This was a fantastic 1st chpt!! Mystery, new surroundings, new job and an intriguing fellow who’s easy on the eyes….what more could a girl ask for?!

  9. May 7, 2011 2:53 pm

    I love him so much already. Is that normal?

    “You don’t. I’ll find YOU.”

    It made me sw-ooooo-oooon.
    Im going to go read the other chapters before I start wailing about your mysterious lack of prolouge. Just in case you’ve already told us the history there.
    IF not, then i’ll be moaning about it, in an affectionate way ASAP.

    Here is subtle; I’ll be stalking you from now on! I like your writing!

    Here is blunt; I like your style, lets be friends?!

    • May 7, 2011 10:29 pm

      FINALLY someone understands the intention of the “I’ll find you” line…
      And yes, there is a point to the no-prologue… all will be revealed later on.

  10. May 7, 2011 4:45 pm

    Oh! Oh! I know, wait… nevermind. lol. Your founder is beautiful, I love the dark theme, so unique for a rainbowcy. Add the mystery and the very hot guy and you have a winner here, can’t wait to read more.

  11. July 26, 2011 1:54 am

    She’s afraid of the shadows? O.o I find this extremely awesome–this rainbowcy.

  12. January 14, 2012 5:33 pm

    Utterly Amazing!!! So intruiging! Really Love it!
    “Ill find you” really had me going! XD
    Can you please come check out my legacy if you have any spare time! Thank you! XD
    http://everyfairytalehastoend.wordpress.com/

Leave a comment